Founded in 2015 by architect Menno Kooistra, Elephant proves that you don’t need to compromise to build healthier, more sustainable and adaptable architecture. Elephant goes beyond aesthetics to deliver high-performance buildings.

Scope of work. Elephant is active in the fields of architecture and urban planning and works on a wide range of projects – from the masterplan for the iconic Scheveningen Pier to social housing, and from a sustainable beach pavilion to extensive area redevelopments.

Our Capabilities.
Architecture
Planning
Redevelopment & Transformation
Renovation monument and historical buildings
Concept Development & Branding
Parametric & computational design
Sustainability

Clients. 1828 Groep, APF, AM, AIVM, Amvest, COD, Dura Vermeer, EDGE, Gemeente Amsterdam, Greyfield, Habion, HOME.Earth, JP van Eesteren, Kondor Wessels Vastgoed, MyB, Kloos2, NS real estate, Wibaut, Pinnacle, Rochdale, Stadgenoot, Snippe, Sustay, Syntrus Achmea, U Minds, VINK bouw, Vivium Zorggroep.

Team Elephant. We are united by our belief that Elephant’s unique approach has the potential to create a big impact.

Menno Kooistra

Founder Architect
menno@elephant.studio

Peter van Gelder

Architect, Associate
peter@elephant.studio

Glenn den Besten

Project Architect
glenn@elephant.studio

Dafne Swank

Architect, Associate
dafne@elephant.studio

Daniël Bakker

Project Architect
daniel@elephant.studio

Wessel de Graaf

Architect
wessel@elephant.studio

Sara Gerretsen

Officemanager
sara@elephant.studio

Berna Kavurmaci

Intern
berna@elephant.studio

You?

jobs@elephant.studio

​​Board of advisors. We have gathered the best of the best. These renowned experts help us to continuously push our boundaries to take our work to the next level.

Nicole Maarsen

Co-founder HOME.Earth

Patrick Barské

Director Stadsgenoot

Wisse Stenchlak

Powerplant

Willem Gaymans

Director Kondor Wessels Vastgoed

Taco Postma

City architect

Sladjana Mijatovic

Duurzaamheid BPD

Welcome to the Elephant Club, in the heart of Amsterdam. A place to come together, drink cocktails, and share ideas. Feel free to come by and join our round table dinners, challenging lectures, cinema, and discussion nights.

Why Elephant? Elephants leave the largest footprint of all land creatures – and within this footprint new micro habitats are created and biodiversity thrives. We stand for our footprint, and believe in its potential for good.

Contact.

Weesperstraat 103
1018 VN Amsterdam

info@elephant.studio
T +31 20 341 58 08

LinkedIn | Instagram

BNA registered